Killion House 2.0

Well, we’re trying to settle in at the Killion house, but we’re having a few setbacks.  Mostly we’re realizing that we may have sold a bit too much in our auction last year.  We went on a few big shopping trips right after we arrived… but since my license hasn’t come through yet we’re a little hesitant to go on any more shopping sprees.

Of course when we arrived we had to buy plates, silverware, cups, bowls, and other kitchen things; sheets, pillows, comforters, and other bedroom things; towels, washcloths and a few other bathroom things.  Now we’re at the point where we want more of the “creature comforts…”

Want to make your favorite black beans & rice?  We have to go buy cumin and spices.

W wants biscuits?  We need to buy a rubber spatula and a baking sheet.

Want to paint over the white spackle marks on the walls?  We’ll need to go buy a paintbrush.

It goes on and on…  I started making a batch of lemonade the other day and realized we don’t have a pitcher large enough to hold 2 quarts.  I had to pour it into a pyrex bowl and store it in the fridge that way.  I’m not even sure my measurements were correct since I don’t have any liquid measuring cups : )

ONE quart pitcher and measuring cups

ONE quart pitcher and measuring cups

Pyrex storage containers... not measuring cups

Pyrex storage containers… not measuring cups

When we were living in the Hideaway cabin I felt like the only thing I missed… the only item that I wished we hadn’t sold was our ice tea maker.

Really.

That’s all I wanted to buy.  Of course now I can run down to the Target that’s 5 minutes away and pick it up for $20… but I don’t want to fill up all of our cabinets, drawers, and closets just yet.

Part of me LOVES that we have no extra “stuff.”  I don’t feel wasteful… I feel grateful that everything we do have is something that I love and specifically wanted to keep.  And the house sure feels bigger than I ever remember it being.

5 thoughts on “Killion House 2.0

  1. You will have the cabinets full in no time. Enjoyed Damon’s you tube deal. I hope Wesley gets his biscuits soon. Love you guys.

  2. You will surprised how quickly you can fill up a spice rack. You will soon wonder “What a I goin got do with all these spice bottles and furnitureLet me know if you find something you just can’t live without,like a chair, lamp, rug or whatever

  3. I will looke for a Mr. Coffee Ice Tea Maker but I have not see one for a long time. I;ll go to TARGET and maybe I can find one.

Leave a Reply

