Sad News : (

I feel terrible… we all do.  One of our foster kittens died this week : (

 

IMG_1180

The little guy we named Skid didn’t make it.  Damon (who normally wakes up first) found him in the morning in Wesley’s room.  Fortunately we removed him before Wesley woke up… but we still told him the truth.  Wesley was sad and immediately asked “Why???”  Then he teared up and hid away alone for a few minutes.

 

i feel terrible for Wesley and I feel responsible for Skid.  Did I do something wrong?  Did I miss a sign that he was failing?  He looked lethargic the night before (when I took this photo), but kittens sleep for hours on end.  Damon assured me that I did nothing wrong… but I still feel responsible.

We took him back to the shelter where we picked him up.  I decided to take all of them so that they could tell me if Pouncer and Kit Kat Jam were doing okay.  They examined all three kittens and reported back to us that Skid most likely had a viral infection… he was probably exposed to it before we even picked him up.  They can’t test every new stray that has been dropped off at their facility for every possible disease… and they assured us it wasn’t our fault, and nothing could have been done to save him.

Then they told us that the other two kitten had lost weight and were probably infected as well.

Oh no.

I felt like the worst parent ever.  I decided to allow my child to foster a group of kittens.  This was my decision.  I filled out the forms and thought this was a good idea.  I imagined the worst part would be when we had to drop them back off for adoption.  I never considered that it would end this way.

I don’t even know if it was the right choice to tell Wesley the truth about what happened.  But all children have to learn to deal with death at some point… don’t they?  Part of growing up seems to be that moment when you lose your beloved pet.  It’s hard, but it’s reality.

I did tell him a lie about the other two kittens.  Not a “little white lie” either.  A bold-faced, 100% flat-out lie.  I told him that the other two kittens were going to be okay.  I said the shelter had another facility where the vets would foster Pouncer and Kit Kat Jam until they were healthy enough to be adopted.

I also assured him that he had done NOTHING wrong in how he took care of Skid… or Pouncer and Kit Kat Jam for that matter.  We tried our best to be a good foster family to them.  Then I told him that at least Skid got to spend his last few days here with a family instead of in a cage at the city shelter.  I hope Wesley remembers that part.  And that part is the truth… we gave him a warm bed, plenty of food and water, and a little boy to play with and cuddle him.  I think that’s all any pet really wants.

Sweet little kitten

Sweet little kitten

But I still feel terrible.

: (

 

4 thoughts on “Sad News : (

  1. So sorry to hear this sad news. I feel really sad for Wesley but tell him that the kitten was so happy that he had some good times with him. Hope you guys feel better. Love to y’all.

  2. I’m so sorry you lost your new kitty. Wesley, you know it had a good time while it was at your house. I know you toko very good care of it is in a happy place now.

Leave a Reply

