Akubekam Visit

I went to the clinic yesterday for my first akubekam treatment… and all went well.  I saw Dr. Sharifah Junaidah and she was very professional and helpful.  Of course some of our conversation was lost in translation… but for the most part I felt very confident letting her work on me.

First she took down my history and listed my ailments and complaints.  Since most of my responses were, “No… I don’t really have that problem.  It’s just the migraines.” I realized that I’m actually doing pretty good : )

Then she examined my fingernails (squeezing them and marking things on her chart) as well as my eyes… tracking my vision and listing the results.  Then we went into the “clinic.”  I undressed and put on something that wasn’t a paper gown, and wasn’t just a blanket.  It was like a super-sized Buff.  You know, a tube of fabric.  Except this one would have fit two other people in there with me : )

I lay face down on the table and she started the treatment.  She pressed on the trigger points (based on my ailments) and then when she found the “sweet spot” she put a vacuum cup there.  She left it for a moment and then used something that felt like a diabetic lancet to poke holes all over the area.  Then she reattached the vacuum cup and sometimes pumped it manually and sometimes attached it to an electric pump.  I was left with spots like these:

Middle lower-back area

Middle lower-back area

Upper back

Upper back… look at all that sun damage!

She ended up putting the vacuum cup on four spots on my back, two spots on my chest/sternum and a smaller cup on my temples, neck, and the top of my head.

When she would remove the cup there would be some blood and usually a small blood clot as well.  The thing was, it didn’t seem like the vacuum cup was sitting there long enough to make a clot.  I mean, I’ve had my share of injuries and nose bleeds… and blot should not clot that fast.  But mine did.

In fact, the vacuum cup she put on my right upper neck area (a spot really affected by my migraines) pulled out a blood clot the size of a lime!… and it felt great while it was doing it!

She explained (and I think I understood most of it) that she was removing blood from the skin and the capillaries, not from the blood stream… like when you have an IV inserted.  So the theory is that this “capillary blood” has been damaged.  Just like a cancer cell is damaged or sunburned skin cells are damaged, this blood is damaged and clots too fast.. leading to pain and migraine headaches.

The entire treatment took about two and a half hours and was really relaxing.  In fact I felt like I was going to fall asleep.  She gave me some herbs to take every night and also a bottle of “antibiotic” to put on the circles… it looks like soy sauce and smells like every Asian tea shop you’ve ever visited : )

So far I’ve only had one short bout of dizziness, and I feel fine.  She said I should come back for one more treatment, but I should wait one day.  Of course we’re leaving before I can go back… but if it seems to help, I’ll make my way back to Malaysia to see Dr. Junaidah again!

10 thoughts on “Akubekam Visit

  1. I so hope this will help you. I looks like she had beat you, but if it helps you headaches it is worth having these spots over your entire body. Give Wesley Newell and Damon a big hug for me.

    You got another check from your insurance company and I gave it to Mic because he knows how to get it to your bank.

    Love to all Mom

  2. Good luck with this. I hope it helps with your migraines since I know how much you suffer from them! I would try to go back for another treatment if I could, just in case.

    Graye Dorcy

  3. I’m praying that this works. Please keep us posted on how you are feeling. Miss you guys. We are still in the process of getting settled I think it will take about a year to finally get it all together.

    • I will let you know how I feel… it’s a big thing if I can go two or three weeks without a headache.

      I hope the house gets “done” soon for you…. I can’t wait to see it!
      xo

  4. You’re so brave! I barely made it thru an acupuncture session. At least it’s better than leeches! And I hope it helps. It’s worth a try!

    • I used to LOVE going for acupuncture treatments in LA… I went to a Chinese man who had an office on Moorpark. He would insert the needles and then put a heat lamp on my stomach while I laid there (motionless) for about 30 minutes.

      Every time I went (and I mean EVERY TIME) I would lay there with my eyes closed and feel like I was levitating. I would actually feel like my nose finally hit the ceiling!

      I also felt like my right little toe (that had a needle in it) was absolutely DRIPPING with blood… but there was never any visible blood. Damon called it my “crying toe.”

  5. Hi, it has been months since your treatment. How would you review the effectiveness of it? Could you share it with us? Thank you.

    • I haven’t felt any long-term effects from the akubekam treatment : ( I wanted it to help my migraines, but there’s been no improvement. She did say I should return for more treatments, but we ended up leaving SE Asia before that was possible. But my gut feeling was that it was not going to help me.

Leave a Reply

