What a Week!

It seems like it’s been forever since I’ve posted anything… but it’s really only been a week.  I’d like to say time flies when you’re having fun–but that was NOT the case with us this week.

  • We were sick AGAIN
  • We had more power outages
  • We had to go to Malaysia for a visa run

First things first… why are we getting sick so much?  What are we doing wrong?  We aren’t drinking the water or cooking our rice with it… although we are brushing our teeth with tap water.  I asked around and everybody said that’s what they do too.  Our neighbors even said they make their coffee with tap water… something I won’t even risk.  I’ve traveled to Mexico and Central America and never had this many “gastrointestinal” problems!  Needles to say, we’ve gotten friendly with the local Thai pharmacist.

Thai medicine

Everything clearly labeled in whatever language you speak.

 

It’s great to be able to speak with a Pharmacist who speaks English, asks intelligent questions, and then sells you the medicine you need without seeing a doctor.  The pharmacist in Khao Lak asked me at least 5 times if I was allergic to anything… I guess she really wanted me to be sure!

 

 

Other than Damon and I being sick, (and having our sleep schedules be totally out of whack), we’ve also had a run of power outages.  When you’re sick and it’s hot and humid outside you DO NOT want your air-conditioning to turn off!.  Let alone the internet and the computer that you’re using to entertain your 9-year-old who isn’t sick.  In fact, it’s been so bad that a local Thai newspaper poll reported that the Energy Minister should resign.  At first we though it was just our area (Kamala Beach), but apparently ALL 14 provinces in the South lost power.  Ouch.

Finally, we also had to do our first visa run.  I have two words to describe it… wonderful and miserable.  It was both.  I’ll describe it in more detail in my next post… all I can say now is that Malaysia was wonderful; visa runs are miserable.

6 thoughts on “What a Week!

  1. So sorry to hear of the illnesses. We take so much for granted over here. Thank you for keeping us “home folk ” updated”. Love you guys!

    • I’m happy to keep everyone updated… you know I’ll forget half of the things that happen to us in a year or two!
      And we’ve all learned to really appreciate basic things like power and clean drinking water!

  2. So sorry you are getting sick so much. Rhonda is going to send you some advise. It has something to do with eating raw vegetables but of course I don’t have a clue what she is talking about. “Eating raw vegetables” was all the words I understood. Ha

      • I read somewhere that you are only to get cooked vegetables when outside of your home country – due to the veggies being washed in tap water. Also only not eating the peel of any fruit. And know Wesley’s diet standard of “nothing green”, this may explain why ya’ll are having more stomach issues that he is.

Leave a Reply

